As of late March 2017, we have three current and upcoming submission opportunities for writers of prose and poetry, artists, and translators.

1. Submissions to The Charcoal Issue (free): January 1, 2017 to March 31, 2017

2. The 2017 Fairy Tale Review Awards ($10): April 1, 2017 to July 15, 2017

3. Submissions to Fairy Tale Review‘s digital platform (free): April 1, 2017 until we decide to close

Please look below for details about our universal submission guidelines, plus additional rules for each category.


Submission guidelines

We ask that all writers who would like to submit to Fairy Tale Review adhere to these guidelines.

  • All work must be previously unpublished.
  • Simultaneous submissions are welcome; please note as such in your cover letter, and withdraw the submission immediately if accepted elsewhere. Withdrawals should be done through Submittable. If you submitted a packet of poems and must withdraw only one but would like the rest to remain under consideration, send us an email at ftreditorial@gmail.com.
  • Only one submission per genre during any reading period (except contests). For example: You may submit one piece of prose and one packet of poems, but not two pieces of prose, within a single reading period. Additional submissions will be returned unread.
  • If you were published in the most recent print issue, please wait one year after publication of the issue to submit again; you are still welcome to submit to our contest or to the digital platform.

We hope to respond to submissions within 3 months, except for contest submissions, which take longer due to contest judging.

Note: As of the end of 2016, we no longer accept postal submissions. We’re sorry for any inconvenience.

The Charcoal Issue

The Charcoal Issue will be published in early 2018. The Charcoal issue is themed. Please read our call for submissions before sending in your work.

Beyond that, simply send your best fairy-tale work along the spectrum of mainstream to experimental, fabulist to realist.

Submissions can be made through Submittable.

The 2017 Fairy Tale Review Awards

As with the rest of The Charcoal Issue, we’re looking for work that broadly approaches themes of resistance and protest. The subject and nature of the resistance/protest is entirely up to you, and we’re giving a good deal of flexibility in how writers approach that topic.

Helen Oyeyemi will serve as the prose judge, and Aimee Nezhukumatathil will serve as the poetry judge.

Please read our contest guidelines before preparing to submit on April 1.

Fairy Tale Review Digital

Starting in April 2017, we’ll be publishing original prose and poetry on our site on a weekly basis.

Our digital platform will be unthemed until we state otherwise, so simply send us your best fairy tales.

Submissions will be open on Submittable on April 1.


Tiny Donkey is an off-shoot of Fairy Tale Review, focused solely on flash non-fiction; please see their site for more information about submitting.